Bertie the knitted dinosaur

When J looked through my copy of Knitted Dinosaurs, he requested the Allosaurus Imagebecause it looked like a “cad and a bounder”. He also requested that the dinosaur have a fluffy tummy. Now that the dinosaur is finished, I think he looks more Bertie Wooster than Terry-Thomas. He does have a fluffy tummy though, courtesy of some Sirdar Snuggly Snowflake DK wool I’ve had hanging around for a few years after I bought it to knit my sister a phone case and didn’t know what to do with the leftovers. I love the effect the wool has given his eyebrows, too. I wasn’t sure what colour to do the rest of the dinosaur, I was originally going to knit him in yellow but that looked a bit washed out, so I chose orange in Bonus Hayfield Toytime DK.

I love knitting toys, but I don’t like sewing up so much. I get way too impatient and slapdash. So Bertie’s head droops to one side and he doesn’t look quite as polished as the Allosaurus in the book, but I think he’s adorable. It’s the little imperfections that make knitted toys special. I also love how he’s thread jointed so his legs and arms can move.Image

Bertie had been sitting on J’s desk for about a day, being given suspicious looks by the cat, before J decided that he looked more like Errol the swamp dragon from Terry Pratchett’s  book Guards! Guards! than a caddish Allosaurus. So I knitted Bertie a pair of wings that evening and he became an Errol. I got the pattern for the wings from here.

Errol has been moved to the shelf by the front door where he greets visitors when they come in. He’s also a very comforting weight and just the right shape to cuddle in the crook of my arm.

All of the dinosaurs in Knitted Dinosaurs are really cute and I’ve had requests for a couple of others. It’s an awesome book. The patterns are quite easy too, even if they do mean I have to do a lot of the dreaded sewing up.

 

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

Shallow Readers

We who enjoy the less-finer things

My Year in Eastleigh

A blog about my move to Eastleigh, what it is like here and what I have done.

Cool San Diego Sights!

Colorful photos of San Diego places and events.

Modern Monstrosities

Rule the night with pleasant nightmares - Current obsessions

Dollsville, USA

Disclaimer: Dollsville USA is not affiliated with Dollsville Dolls, a doll retailer. We are a non-commercial website and derive no income or earnings from this blog.

The Riddle Factory

The Riddler/Edward Nygma Fan Site

Squirrel Picnic

Handmade with Love and Stuff

Azure and Copper Crafts

Custom Dolls and Accessories

Doll Nerd

Geeking out about kid stuff.

Frekki's Blog

A nerdy girl's blog about art and costumes

The First One

Just another face lost in the crowd

osographic

Dave Monty's minis and much more!

The Cosplay Companion

My adventures into the world of cosplayers

little artist BIG CITY

NYC & the starting/starving artist

Ghost Cities

Tales of Mystery and the Supernatural

sewmuchchoice

Sewing, knitting and general craftiness!

The Future Is Papier Mâché

- Pictures of a City -

