Confessions of a first time cosplayer at LFCC

ImageI’ve been going to conventions for about three years now, but Sunday 7th July’s London Film and Comic Con was the first time I ever went in cosplay. It was my sister’s first time cosplaying too and she made our outfits. We had a great time and in honour of the event, we’ve put together a few things for fellow first-timers to consider.

1. Wear your costume on public transport

You’ll feel like a celebrity, attracting all those curious stares.

2. Don’t take the weather into any consideration when planning what costume to wear

Of course you want to be in three layers of clothing, skinny jeans and boots on the hottest Imageday of the year! And don’t forget hat, wig and gloves.

Although, I did manage to lose my hat within the first ten minutes or so. I hope it didn’t get trampled and that it went home with someone who’ll take good care of it.

I have so much respect for the brave people wandering around the hall in full latex suits and I spoke to a Captain Jack Sparrow who had so much energy and was so fun, despite being sweltering in a wig. There were a couple of times when I lost my resolve and went sans wig, although my sister maintained her dignity in her bowler hat the whole time. Towards the end, I even lost the top coat and enjoyed a blissful half hour in my shirt sleeves. I was so envious of all the Daenyrys’s floating around in their beautiful flowing dresses!

3. Take pictures with and of everyone

One of the things I enjoy most about LFCC is seeing everyone in their cosplay outfits and the variety. From Disney princesses to comic book characters to a scary Mafia style Mario, Luigi and Shy Guy. Seeing everyone’s costumes makes the day for me. And they’re all so nice! Everyone is happy to talk about their costumes and their fandom. And it’s fun going around collecting pictures of people and having pictures taken with them.

It was especially awesome when people asked for pictures of us. At first it was kind of scary, but I started to enjoy it, although I suspect I looked really awkward in most of the pictures. Not the sister though, she looked like a pro.

 4. Do all your usual stuff

I don’t know if this would worry everyone, but I felt kind of shy about getting my picture taken with the convention guests in full costume. But a lot of other people do it. Standing in the line to have my photo taken with Lena Headey (from Game of Thrones), I watched her interacting with a Jedge Dredd, a Captain Jack Sparrow and a Xena warrior princess and it was really sweet. And think about how epic the picture is going to look!

5. Have fun!

As if that one needs to be said. 🙂

Image


Image

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

Shallow Readers

We who enjoy the less-finer things

My Year in Eastleigh

A blog about my move to Eastleigh, what it is like here and what I have done.

Cool San Diego Sights!

Colorful photos of San Diego places and events.

Modern Monstrosities

Rule the night with pleasant nightmares - Current obsessions

Dollsville, USA

Disclaimer: Dollsville USA is not affiliated with Dollsville Dolls, a doll retailer. We are a non-commercial website and derive no income or earnings from this blog.

The Riddle Factory

The Riddler/Edward Nygma Fan Site

Squirrel Picnic

Handmade with Love and Stuff

Azure and Copper Crafts

Custom Dolls and Accessories

Doll Nerd

Geeking out about kid stuff.

Frekki's Blog

A nerdy girl's blog about art and costumes

The First One

Just another face lost in the crowd

osographic

Dave Monty's minis and much more!

The Cosplay Companion

My adventures into the world of cosplayers

little artist BIG CITY

NYC & the starting/starving artist

Ghost Cities

Tales of Mystery and the Supernatural

sewmuchchoice

Sewing, knitting and general craftiness!

The Future Is Papier Mâché

- Pictures of a City -

