Half Past Danger #1 Review

Image

So standing in my local comic bookshop, looking at the pitiful amount of coins in my pocket, it came down to a choice between lunch or this comic book. I chose the comic book, of course. How could I resist a cover like that?

At $3.99 (that’s about £3.15 to me), it didn’t come cheap but it was worth it. Inside, it has Nazis, dinosaurs, dames and martial arts. Something for everyone! The art is just right – clean lines, bright colours and enough heavy shading to give it that noir-ish feel. I love the expressions that Mooney draws. The faces of his characters manage to be both stoic in that WW2 way and expressive.

The best panel for me is a bar fight going on in the background, whilst the beautiful Agent Elizabeth Huntington-Moss leans back on the bar, eyebrows raised, and asks “Pimms?” This is closely followed by the main character, Tommy Flynn, being thrown out of a bar window. He falls against a wall, bums a quick cigarette puff off a homeless man, hands the man back his smoke, and dives back in through the window. Pure awesomeness.

The issue left me really wanting to know who Agent Huntington-Moss was and what she wanted with Tommy and what was going on with the dinosaurs. So many questions that need answers. So I went nosing around the internet to try and find out when the next issue is out…

Turns out I’ve really missed the boat on this one. Issue one came out in May this year. Surely I would have noticed this wonderful piece of art before? I’m not sure why my LCS suddenly had issue 1 this late on (and I snapped up the last copy that was on the shelves), but I really hope they put the rest out. If not, the trade paperback is coming out early February, so I will have to wait until then to find out what’s going on!

2 responses to “Half Past Danger #1 Review

Leave a Reply

Shallow Readers

We who enjoy the less-finer things

My Year in Eastleigh

A blog about my move to Eastleigh, what it is like here and what I have done.

Cool San Diego Sights!

Colorful photos of San Diego places and events.

Modern Monstrosities

Rule the night with pleasant nightmares - Current obsessions

Dollsville, USA

Disclaimer: Dollsville USA is not affiliated with Dollsville Dolls, a doll retailer. We are a non-commercial website and derive no income or earnings from this blog.

The Riddle Factory

The Riddler/Edward Nygma Fan Site

Lassemista

variety is everything

Squirrel Picnic

Handmade with Love and Stuff

Azure and Copper Crafts

Custom Dolls and Accessories

Doll Nerd

Geeking out about kid stuff.

Frekki's Blog

A nerdy girl's blog about art and costumes

The First One

Just another face lost in the crowd

osographic

Dave Monty's minis and much more!

The Cosplay Companion

My adventures into the world of cosplayers

little artist BIG CITY

NYC & the starting/starving artist

Ghost Cities

Tales of Mystery and the Supernatural

sewmuchchoice

Sewing, knitting and general craftiness!

